Bastille is a Grammy award-nominated rock group from South London, England that formed in 2010. Bastille started out as a solo project by singer-songwriter Dan Smith, who later decided to form a band. The quartet consists of Dan Smith, Chris 'Woody' Wood, Will Farquarson and Kyle Simmons. The name of the band comes from Bastille Day, which was the day when Smith was born. Bastille released their latest album, 'Bad Blood', on 4 March 2013 in the U.K. to international critical acclaim. Bastille debuted in June 2011 with their 7 single, Flaws/Icarus (released on Young & Lost Club). This was then followed by their EP 'Laura Palmer' later in 2011. After adding a few more tracks online, the band received a lot of attention from indie rock fans on the web, helping secure some support slots. During the summer of 2011, they performed at a number of major UK festivals, including Glastonbury, Isle of Wight, and Blissfields. On 27 April 2012, Overjoyed came out, being the debut Virgin Records single from Bastille. This was confirmed by EMI on 1 May 2012. After the video release of Overjoyed on YouTube, 'Q Magazine' introduced the song as its track of the day for 7 March 2012. Fans seemingly devoured the tune. Bad Blood was released on Virgin Records on 20 August 2012. Following the video release of Bad Blood on YouTube, Bastille were named The New Band of the Day by writers for 'The Guardian' on 25 July 2012. In not too long, Bastille performed at the major UK Reading and Leeds Festivals in August 2012. They played an October 2012 headline tour that brought them into the spotlight alongside Emeli Sandé, with Swiss Lips supporting them. Bastille's single Flaws/Icarus was featured in the soundtrack of the popular British Channel 4 television show 'Made in Chelsea'. As well, Weight of Living, Pt. II was part of the soundtrack for FIFA 13. Of The Night, Bastille's dual cover of both Snap!'s Rhythm is a Dancer and Corona's The Rhythm of the Night, was used to advertise Dancing on Ice in the run up to its 2013 series. Bastille played their first show outside of Europe on 3 December 2012 at Hong Kong's Clockenflap Music & Arts Festival. Bastille's song Oblivion featured in the soundtrack of the television show The Vampire Diaries in the Season 4 Episode 9 titled O Come, All Ye Faithful. They supported Two Door Cinema Club on their UK tour throughout January/February 2013 and toured through Europe in April to promote their debut album. The band have also released two mixtapes : Other People's Heartache Pt 1 (featuring covers, among others, of Blue Jeans by Lana del Rey, The Rhythm of The Night by Corona) and Other People's Heartache Pt 2 (featuring covers, including, Sweet Nothing by Calvin Harris, No Scrubs by TLC and Dreams by Fleetwood Mac). Read more on User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.


Arcade Fire


Yeah Yeah Yeahs


Belle and Sebastian


© 2014